Shosholoza Meyl | Shosholoza Meyl Online Bookings                                                               Shosholoza Meyl Skype Contact   Shosholoza Meyl PayPal-Visa-MasterCard-Payment Options  

Reviews by Recent Travellers

On 04 July 2016 Sue wrote: Dear Gareth & Lauren I would like to take this opportunity to say THANK YOU to both of you for the wonderful service I have received with regards to our booking of tickets from Johannesburg to Durban station. From the booking process that I had with Lauren & Gareth to the sending of the voucher and follow up by Gareth was really remarkable. As we arrived at Park Station, sitting in te Lounge area, we were so excited to embark on this journey. My kids were so excited that my eldest son did not even sleep, he enjoyed the ride so much. The meals were utmost divine! We really enjoyed this experience and we have definitely recommended this to quite a few friends & family members. Once again a big THANK YOU to the both of you LAUREN & GARETH. We really appreciated your incredible Customer Service. Oh and NOT forgetting our Hostess, SIBONGILE…..THANK YOU SO MUCH for your Hosting, we were really treated like VIP Guests!!! Right till we exited the train, she made sure that we were all okay and waited with us while our Car Hire arrived. All the best to you & your Team. Kindest Regards, Sue Lala

On 27 June 2016 Ntebo wrote: Thank you so much for your excellent service. We had a pleasant trip to Durban on the 15th June. Ntebo Makosholo, Office Central Warehouse - Logistics

On 09 June 2016 Rob wrote: Thanks Gareth, all received. Thank you for the excellent service throughout. Regards Rob Peretti

On 07 June 2016 Annemarie wrote: Good day Gareth Thank you, hereby acknowledge receipt on the above booking. Angelique, many thanks for your super service and support. You will definitely be my contact when making a booking again in the near future. Kind regards, Annemarie Davidson

On 16 May 2016 Tim wrote: Hi Gareth. I have the voucher and I'm excited about the train trip. Thank you and Ms. Lauren for the great service. Tim

On 12 May 2016 Francoise wrote: Hi Angie. Thank you so much for your most prompt reply and your professional service! Have a lovely day Francoise

On 11 May 2016 Peter wrote: Hi Gareth, Yes, I received our voucher. We are pleased that your booking process was well-communicated and relatively easy to navigate. Regards, Peter Seery

On 04 May 2016 Eben wrote: Good day Lauren/Gareth. I would like to take this opportunity to just congratulate both of you for the wonderful service I have received with regards to the transport of my vehicle from Johannesburg to Cape Town station. From the booking process that I had with Lauren to the sending of the voucher and follow up by Gareth was really remarkable. As I picked up my vehicle yesterday at Cape Town station. In our busy world we seldom find people like you guys who really goes the extra mile for us(customers). I will definitely recommend this service to my family and friends. Once again a big THANK YOU to the both of you LAUREN & GARETH. I really appreciated your incredible Customer Service. All the best. Warm Regards Eben :-)

On 19 April 2016 Andrew wrote: Dear Lauren, Thank you for your excellent, efficient service. It has been very nice working with you on this booking. You have been very clear and accurate. Congratulations. Best Regards Andrew Lawson

On 05 April 2016 Linda wrote: Hello Gareth, I absolutely LOVE the fabulous organisation and perfect information, etc. Well done to the whole team. Seemingly one could send a fleet of cars with the utmost joy. Many thanks. Kind regards, LINDA MAGENNIS

On 05 April 2016 Pam wrote: Thank you for the voucher and prompt service. I shall be in your country in December and enjoy my wonderful train trip from Capetown to Jo'burg. Regards Pam Smith

On 04 April 2016 José wrote: Dear Gareth, I want to thank the treatment received during the trip I made in a train of your company, both by managers train and especially the driver of the transfer that took my wife and me to the airport in Johannesburg on April 2, leading a very fast and safe way, allowing us not miss the flight we had planned. Yours sincerely, José Luis Alonso Bilbao

On 15 March 2016 James wrote: Hi Angie. Just wanted to say thank you, I'm on the train now! Of all the sevice providers I have communicated with, you have been head and shoulders above. Yours thankfully, James.

On 09 March 2016 Hettie wrote: Good day Thank you very much ! This was really very easy booking and excellent service! Hettie Smit Senior Adminstration Clerk Financial Accounting Department of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries

On 01 March 2016 Finlay wrote: Hi Gareth, voucher well received and thank you for professional service. Have a good day Finlay Reid

On 25 January 2016 Esther wrote: Thanks Chantell! Friendly, fast and efficient as always. We loved our previous trip with the Premier Classe train. All the staff were fantastic and the food was spectacular! To confirm, the date is on 22nd and the trip is just one way from JHB to Ct? Kind regards Esther Esterhuizen, Client Liaison Manager Courtney Capital Private Wealth Authorised Financial Services Provider

On 25 January 2016 Mike wrote: Hi Chantelle, I hope you had a good festive season and all of the best for 2016. I would like to make a booking for myself and Karen to Cape Town Premier Classe on the 7th July 2016. Will you please check and let me know if it is ok. I must also tell you that I really enjoyed my trip on the train AGAIN in December. Kind regards Mike

On 21 January 2016 Catherine wrote: Hi Gareth. Email and voucher received. Many thanks to both you and Lauren De Vos for your help in this matter. I have found your service from South African Railways extremely efficient and helpful. Kind regards Catherine Ashmore

On 19 January 2016 Vanessa wrote: Dear Angelique, Thank you for your assistance with me getting my tickets for the train. It was effortless. Received the voucher from Gareth and everything went well when picking up the tickets. The experience on the train was fantastic and relaxing. The staff on the train were helpful and pleasant. Definatly an experience my family would love to do again. Thank you for your excellent service. Vanessa and family

On 04 January 2016 Razia wrote: Good afternoon Gareth, Hope you had a lovely Christmas. Just want to let you know everything on the train was excellent. We had no issues as such; 3hr delay but didn't feel it. The staff very friendly and helpful, especially in the dining cart. Will definitely consider using the Shosholoza meyl tourist train again. Thanx for answering all my queries. It really helped a lot. Wishing you a wonderful 2016. Kind regards, Razia

On Fri 18 December 2015 A-Isha wrote: Dear Gareth, Thank you kindly for the voucher. Please relay my sincere thanks to Lauren for superb service.
Wishing you and your family a joyous festive season. A-Isha

On Wed 09 December 2015 Jill wrote: Thank you so much Angelique – you have been a Star! Great, prompt service, always within 24 hours and usually same day if my email was not too late in the afternoon. Please show your supervisor my email so that it can go into your file for your performance appraisal. I am a very happy customer. Best wishes Jill Schlachter

On Fri 20 November 2015 Peter wrote: Hello Chantelle. We both enjoyed the Blue Train experience. I would say it was the highlight of our 6 week trip to UK and South Africa. Staff. food and facilities were of the highest order. We are continually telling friends and family of how good the Blue Train is and if you get the chance "Do it" Regards, Peter and Elisabeth McLaren

On Mon 09 November 2015 Melissa wrote: Thank you so much Angelique for being so helpful and assisting so quick with my Tourist Class enquiries. Have a good day further and an awesome week. Kind regards Melissa

On Fri 16 October 2015 Amina wrote: Dear Angelique Just to say a great thank you, for all information and you have been very very helpful. Looking forward to my trip in the beautiful South Africa. Once again thank you A Karanie

On Thu 15 October 2015 Rafik wrote: hi gareth thank you for ur efficient service all the best rafik

On Mon 12 October 2015 Deshnie wrote: Hi Chantelle Trust you are well. Had the most amazing trip on train, brought back so many childhood memories. My family and I enjoyed every moment. Once again thank you. Thanks Deshnie

On Fri 27 August 2015 Portia wrote: Dear Lauren, Thank you for your efficiency. If people were as awesome and attentive as you are, this world would be a stressless place. Kudos to you. Sent from mobile phone. ------------- Portia Malatjie art historian | curator MA (History of Art, Wits University)

On Mon 17 August 2015 Paul wrote: Thank you Gareth and all the team at African Sun Travel. Totally professional and customer focused in all my dealings with you. Have a good day ! Paul van de Rooy

On Thu 13 August 2015 Mrs Jones wrote: Hi Chantelle We have only just returned from SA hence you haven't heard from me. Our trip on the Premier Class train was wonderful and our stay at Ocean Mist. Many thanks for ensuring that the accommodation was first class, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
MRS CS JONES

On Mon 27 July 2015 Mike wrote: Hi Chantelle, Just to let you know that the trip I did to Cape Town on the 9th July was as good as ever. This was the seventh time I have travelled on the Premier Classe to either Port Elizabeth or Cape Town and it was as good as ever. The service from the time you get to the Premier Classe lounge in Johannesburg until you leave the station in Cape Town or Port Elizabeth or vice versa is out of the top drawer. The staff in the lounges and on the train go out of their way to make your trip so enjoyable and nothing is too much trouble for them. I have never ever received the kind of service they give and they are such a good advertisement for South Africa. I am due to go down to Cape Town in December again and I can’t wait. Could you please pass this onto the people at Shosholoza Meyl and tell them to keep up the good work. I think South Africa can be proud to have a train like that. I hope they bring back the Port Elizabeth train again soon. Lastly thanks to you, Gareth and everyone else that I have dealt with. Your service is also excellent.
Kind regards Mike Longworth

On Thu, 16 July 2015 Sharlene wrote: Good Morning All. Just a quick bit of feedback from our trip last week… It was AWESOME!!! My 16-year old daughter was skeptical when I told her I’d book us on the train, but even she enjoyed it thoroughly and was greatly impressed! The coaches, compartments, toilets and dining room were clean and comfortable and well maintained. (obviously the new coaches are nicer than the old ones – we had the old one down and the new one back – but both were great!) The staff on our trip down were efficient in their jobs and ensured everything ran smoothly. The staff on the way back were also as efficient, but on top of that, they were really friendly and helpful as well! Big points to them! The food in the dining room was delicious!!! In fact, we had chicken on our way down and it was probably the best chicken we’ve ever had! We had to get off the train at Craddock on our way down, due to the de-railing of the freight train, and although it was slight chaos with everyone trying to figure out what was what, even the bus arrangements that were made for us to PE was well done! It really was a great experience and we will definitely be doing it more often! I think next trip will be the extended family down to Cape Town ;-) Keep up the good work and thank you! Regards, Sharlene Senekal

On Fri, 26 June 2015 Nthabiseng wrote: Hi Angelique I would like to thank you for the service you provided me with, I didn’t know they still made patient & knowledgeable people like you. Your assistance was very helpful and very insightful…you customer service style is amazing. Do likewise with other customers. Thank you so much. Warmest Regards J Nthabiseng Moagi

On Thu, 11 June 2015 Leoni wrote: Hi Lauren, You are a star! I really do appreciate all your effort in securing our booking. African Sun is lucky to have you as you are excellent in customer service. I owe you one big box of chocolates to say thank you! Kind Regards, Leoni Swatton

On Mon, 08 June 2015 Lileen wrote: Hi Gareth, Our children’s car “landed” safely in Johannesburg yesterday. Thank you for the professional service and safe transport of the Golf. We really appreciate it. Kind regards Lileen van der Vyver

On Tue, 26 May 2015 Attela wrote: Hi Angelique..... I just want to thank you again for your quick responses. I wish I can clone you and place you in the non delivering parts of South Africa. You can show your boss/supervisor this. Have a wonderful day/week and yes ‘sommer’ a year! Attela Hyman.

On Thu, 07 May 2015 Analiza wrote: Hi Chantelle, O great ! I Like to thank you for the wonderful time me and my mother had on the train, also for the beautiful apartment. How spoiled we are ! You helped us made this one dream come true. and it meant a lot to us both. Wishing you well for the future. Analiza

On Wed, 06 May 2015 Lesley-Ann wrote: Hi Gareth I hope you are well. Just a short note of thanks for the fast and efficient way in which my vehicle was transported to Cape Town. The car arrived safe and sound on Monday afternoon. The booking process was also seamless and hassle free and for that you have my humble appreciation. Have a great day further. Warm Regards Lesley-Ann

On Thu, 23 April 2015 Helen wrote: Dear Gareth Thanks for the vouchers. Thanks too to you and Yentl for all your efficiently and professionalism in making our bookings. We are so looking forward to our second trip on the train and sharing the experience with our grand-daughter from the USA. We have travelled on Rovos Rail and the Blue Train but love the feeling of Shosholoza and of course the value for money! Best wishes Helen Pickard

On Fri, 27 March 2015 Robert wrote: Dear Gareth and Lauren, I want to thank you for a most delightful experience travelling on the Premier Class train – it truly is an African adventure. All went so smoothly and getting the car loaded was sooooooooooooooooo! Easy. Many thanks. Please pass on our thanks to the whole team. Best Wishes Robert Drew

On Tue, 24 March 2015 Susan wrote: Good morning Lauren I took the car to the station in Johannesburg on Friday morning, and although it was well before 7am, I was helped by Daniel and the paperwork was done quickly and efficiently. After having checked the mileage of the car and the car for scratches and any damages to the windscreen, I signed off the paperwork and Daniel took the keys and assured me all would be fine with the car and boxes. Sure enough, when my daughter went to the station in Cape Town on Saturday afternoon, at 3:30 as promised, she was handed the keys, car and boxes safely and professionally. I would just like to say thank you for the efficient and friendly service by you and the staff at the stations, who all contributed to the efficient and highly recommended service given by yourselves. Kind regards SUSAN BROWN

On Fri, 20 March 2015 Annike wrote: Hi Gareth and Lauren! Just to say thanks a bunch for all the help with getting my car over here! Everything was really convenient and easy and you guys are awesome! Thank you and keep well! Annike

On Thu, 19 March 2015 Rensia wrote:  We booked our Pakage on the 6 th January and paid. We arrived yesterday!! We are so empressed!! Such a lovely place to stay. Ocean Mist, Big Bay! It is our first time here... The train trip was Awesome, very helpfull personal and very friendly. A big disappointed was the delay of the train. Locomotive broke. From Beaufortwest on Busses, luxury busses, very nice. We prefer the train travel. Already saving for next year. We feel like Cinderella in the Palace! We are at a place that we can afford. We are of the avarage income people but enjoing the prevelige of being here in this Beautifull place!! We are going to spread the word. This I want to share with you. To us it is Awesome! Thank you Rensia and Sannie XXX

On Mon, 23 February 2015 Jose wrote: Hi Gareth, I just want to thank you and your staff in Johannesburg and Cape Town for being so friendly and professional. What a real pleasure to do business with efficient professionals. I will recommend you and your company anytime, so much easier than the long drive to Cape Town. Thank you again. Kind regards Jose

On Wed, 04 February 2015 Lezel wrote: Good Day Chantelle I hope this email finds you well. I would like to compliment Angelique on the service she has given me. I have probably been the most "confused" client she have ever had but every question was answered professionally and kind. People in Customer Care who deals with clients with a kindhearted nature will always bring forth a positive image of your company and I think you should give her a pat on the shoulder and that her service levels should be set as an example for other colleagues. Thank you for the honor of being serviced by such an incredible person. Have a lovely day Kind Regards Lezel Du Toit

On Tue, 20 January 2015 Sophia wrote: Goeiemiddag Chantelle Net om vir jou te se dat ek n wonderlike ondervinding gehad het om my bespreking deur Angelique Sampson te doen. Kan net met lof van haar praat. Sy regtig n wonderlike aanwins vir julle maatskappy. Baie dankie Sophia Naude

On Mon, 12 January 2015 Margaret wrote: Hello Gareth Just to let you know that, from the moment I arrived at the Johannesburg lounge until I arrived in the lounge at Cape Town, the whole trip was outstanding. The staff were unbelievable and the train was immaculate. The food was so nice and well presented. Could not fault it in any way. I have recommended it to everyone that I have been in contact with. Will certainly do it again. Best regards Margaret Gardiner, Debt Controller

On Mon, 15 December 2014 Maryna wrote: Hi Yentl, We have just returned from our yourney with the S Meyl. We want to thank you for the wonderful service that we have had. The journey was a lovely experience - the train clean and comfortable and the staff very friendly and helpful. The dinner we had was very good and good value for money. We are definitely travelling again with the S. Meyl and shall recommend it to our friends. Please pass the thanks on to the relative people. Kind regards. Johan and Maryna Loubser -----

On Wed, 10 December 2014 Rhena wrote: Hi Yentl, much much appreciated. Have a super evening. I wish I could bottle your prompt service and courteous and efficient responses! (would just be a perfect world!!) Take care. Rehna Wollentine

On Tue, 02 December 2014 Peter wrote: Bernice Thanks a million for all your effort again! It is much appreciated, and you handled all exceptionally well! I will definitely make use of your services again into the future if required! I received the full amount for the cancelled train trip! Looks like I will have to travel from Cape Town to enjoy this trip then! Kind regards and wishing you well for the remainder of the year. Peter Whitehead

On Mon, 01 December 2014 Jannie wrote: Hi Gareth and team, my husband and myself would like to thank you for the great Tourist Class package to Cape Town. Everything was done wonderfully. The train trip there and back was so relaxing and the security on the train was good. The RS chauffeurs who picked us up and dropped us, what a team so friendly and helpful. The place we stayed in, Ocean Mist 107, what a lovely place. Everything u needed was there. Thanks so much i give this package 10 out of ten. Thanking you, Jannie and Sandy Nel

On Wed, 19 November 2014 Jack wrote: Dear Chantelle, I would like to put on record the absolutely fantastic service we received recently from Lauren de Vos when I booked on the Shozoloza Express from Johannesburg to Cape Town and return. It was a pleasure dealing with her!! Congratulations to your dedicated staff. Also needing mention is Gareth Lang who proved equally efficient. Please convey my feelings to both of the above. Regards Jack BRUTON

On Thu, 13 November 2014 Elizabeth wrote: Greetings Gareth, This is to confirm that I have received my booking voucher for the Premier Classe – 14 December from PE to JHB. I would like to thank you all for the very easy and efficient way in which you have handled my booking. This will be our 3rd trip – the previous two were from Cape Town and it was so special and enjoyable and we will certainly continue where and when possible to use your services and the special Premier Classe train. Regards, Elizabeth Milema.

On Thu, 23 October 2014 Andrew wrote: Hi Gareth, Katherine and I had an excellent trip on the Shosholoza Meyl tourist train from J'berg to Cape Town last week. Everything went beautifully smoothly as far as the ticket was concerned. May I also mention that bedding WAS available, at 60 rand/person, and, in my mind, was eminently good value since the bed was made up in a way that made it almost impossible to fall out of the upper bunk, and the quality of sleep improved hugely as a result. Just to send our grateful thanks for your effective service. Yours, with best wishes, Andrew Williams

On Wed, 22 October 2014 Jack wrote: Hi Lauren, Many thanks for the invoice received yesterday covering the journey Cape Town to Joeys on Wednesday 21 January, 2014. I arranged the payment this morning from Capitec Bank and trust it is received in good order. Once again I would like to thank you for the absolutely fantastic service I have got from you. If only the rest of business in the country followed your service, it would really be Great. Best wishes to you and family for the upcoming festive season Regards, Jack BRUTON

On Thu, 16 October 2014 Anne wrote: Hi Chantelle Just to let you know that we had such an amazing time on the train. It was such a great experience from start to finish. The train was immaculate and the food unbelievable and first class. The service was outstanding as well. Kind Regards Anne Hunt

On Thu, 16 October 2014 Lynda wrote: We just want to compliment Lauren de Vos on the wonderful service that we received and also to inform your organisation that you can be very proud having her as a member of your staff. Not being familiar with the whole online procedure etc we bombarded Lauren with questions via email and she so diligently and promptly responded to our emails. Kind regards, LYNDA RIEDER

On Tue, 06 October 2014 Tess wrote:Hello Yentle, Thank you so very much for helping me.....I was getting a little desperate to make my booking, but once I corresponded with you everything came together. Please find proof of payment as requested. I look forward to receiving my voucher and can't wait for my trip in December. Thanks again and take care Kind regards Tess Bunnell

On Wed, 10 September 2014 Lorna wrote: Dear Chantelle, My sister and I travelled on Premier Classe to Capetown on the 28th August, and I have to tell you that it was the most amazing experience ever! The staff were so polite and helpful, the meals were superb, and the train manager kept us informed right through out our trip. We will definitely be doing this again in the near future! Congratulations to all!!!!! Lorna Taylor and Jenny Bryce.

On Tue, 02 September 2014 Jeremy wrote: Hi Chantelle. Please can you convey to the relevant persons that we all had a most wonderful time on the Premier Classe train on Friday night. Martha, the train manager was just great, as was the restaurant manager whose name I now can’t remember. Staff members were very helpful and the service was very efficient. Many of my guests had not been on Premier Classe before but are now very keen to do so again. Thank you also to you and Mel for assisting with all the arrangements. It was most appreciated. Kind regards Jeremy Yatt

On Wed, 27 August 2014 Colleen wrote: Hello Yentl, My best friend Elizabeth and I thoroughly enjoyed our trip on Shosholoza Meyl from Joburg to Worcester on 19/20 August. The staff were so friendly, well-groomed, professional and helpful. They took incredible care of us and made sure we were comfortable and happy. It was absolutely wonderful! I don't think I will ever fly to the Cape again! Thanks for all your assistance.
Kind regards, Colleen Pollock

On 2014/07/26, 10:42 AM Kris (@Kristy8526) tweeted: @SouthAfricaRail what a wonderful experience with Premier Classe! Thank you to all the staff for your friendly and professional service.

2014/07/25, 9:37 PM Traveling to Durbs aboard @SouthAfricaRail Premier Classe what a fantastic experience so far! Highly recommended #thumbs-up

On Mon, 07 July 2014 Alison Whittal wrote: Thanks to all for assisting with getting my car on the train on Thursday - much appreciated.

On Mon, 30 June 2014 L Kellerman wrote: Hi Chantelle, My Mother & sister arrive safely at PE. this morning. all though we had problems with the original travel plans, I want to thank you for listening & helping me with the remaining arrangements. The staff on the train was excellent according to my Mom the cancelled tickets was paid out in cash at PE. station. Thanks for your sincere help. Louwrens

On Fri, 26 June 2014 Jenny Klaaste wrote: Hi, Lauren Just want to thank you from the bottom of my heart for excellent service and just to confirm that my mom and aunt got on the train just now and really thank you for making this possible! With many thanks!

On Thu, 29 May 2014 Rod Kohler wrote: Hi Gareth, Just to let you know that our Tourist Class train trip to Cape Town was a very pleasant one and certainly something we would do again. The train was very clean, comfortable and at all times we felt very safe with the obvious presence of SAPS and PRASA security both on the train and at the stations. Bedding was available and the food and service in the dining car was good. Thank you for making the booking so easy and informative and trust that PRASA will keep up and even improve on the good service. Best regards Rod Kohler

On Tue, 27 May 2014 Ronel wrote: Hi Bernice Hope all are well; we just want to thank u all again for excellent service and friendly welcome and goodbye from the start to the end everything was absolute well organised. We will surely contact you again for our next holiday and it will defnitly be longer. Thanks to you and your team; well done. Ronel Stephan Pieterse and Paul Melien Luus

On Mon, 26 May 2014 Nico and Yolande wrote: Hi Gareth Just a short note to say how much we enjoyed our trip from CT to JHB on the Premier Classe. Your people were most professional from arrival to departure. And a special thanks to Milly and his crew on board from welcoming us to serving us. The food was good too. This will in future become an alternative to business travel to JHB. Fly one way, ride the train the other! You will be seeing more of us! Regards Nico & Yolande van Gijsen

On Fri, 23 May 2014 Marthie Carstens wrote: Hi Gareth, Thank you for sending the voucher that I have received. Appreciated. I would like to take time to thank you and your colleagues for your very friendly and prompt service that I have received. I would also like to thank you all for your patience. Enjoy the rest of your afternoon and week-end. Kind regards Marthie

On Wed, 14 May 2014 Rev. Brian Hutton wrote: Hi Lauren, A short note to express my deepest gratitude and appreciation for getting us on the train as requested in my previous email. My wife is over the moon in excitement and joy in receiving the news that her dream will come true. I believe she has been in contact with you, and now we are booked and ready. Bless you for your behind the scenes labour in making sure we get on that train, and will keep my side's promise in ensuring my congregation becomes aware of your effort as an individual and as an organization. Rev. Brian Hutton

On Tue, 06 May 2014 Terry Worley wrote and sent picture (click to enlarge): Train to Cape Town on the Shosholoza Meyl: A train trip to the Cape is indeed a pleasant way to travel - no tolls, no potholes, no crazy drivers and no getting lost like Helen and I are apt to do occasionally. Many thought I was a bit mad to take a train overnight. “But it must be dangerous, horrible and dirty? Rather drive” was the cries we heard. But I was adamant. Not having been on a train in SA since the army (and you can’t count that as I did not buy the ticket) I was curious to give it a go. We left Joburg Station at 12.3o on Tuesday. Park Station is not too bad – it is actually quite organised although the staff is a bit grim. I was pleased to see that the green cabins have given away to a more palatable lilac. The train staff were friendly and accommodating. The porter suggested we do not drink the water provided from a basin in our compartment but it is fine to wash in. The train Review of Tourist Class by Terry Worleychugged out towards the west Rand and Liam could not contain his excitement. This was his first train ride. The 10 coach train did not leave Joburg full but would be full by the time we reached Kimberley, explained a well dressed conductor. At only R7, coffee and tea available from the dining car, was a bargain. Sweets, liquor and other goodies are also available and you are allowed to bring your own food. Shortly afterwards a porter came round to ask if we wanted bedding. It cost R50 a person and he made up the bed exquisitely short after sunset. The train charged through Potch and other small towns before a longer stop at Klerksdorp that coincided with supper and sunset. Very pleasant indeed. Reasonably priced, filling meals – from fish and chips, beef stew, lasagne, desserts – very nice. After that it was shower time. Yes note showers, and very adequate. Night was falling fast as we struck out into the great west. Porters came round regularly to sweep the corridors. The other passengers – totally on board about 200 when we reached Cape Town – were all pleasant and there was security on board – not that it was needed. Later, we settled down for the night and woke up briefly at the Kimberley stop. We woke up at 5.45am just in time to hear a lady knocking on our door with an offer of coffee/tea. It was raining in the Karoo – making for a delicious sunrise! By the time we reached Beaufort West it was breakfast time and the rain was teeming down. There was a long stretch to Touwsriver when we got out for a leg stretch and Liam ran around. Later, the scenery changed dramatically following an exciting trip through a longish tunnel. De Doorns followed and into the wine country. Next stop was Wellington where an extraordinary large squatter camp hugs the railway line. Then Cape Town. Just over two hours late – due to a hold up in the Karoo, we were told – but no matter – it was about 5.30pm and fine. While the Shosholoza Meyl offers great travelling (cost about R600 each on tourist class) the country’s railway infrastructure looks sad. Too many stations are in desperate need of a lack of paint. Signs are peeling away (Befrt Wt) and overhead bridges are crying for a scrub down to get rid of graffiti. Railway lines seem to the targets of litter bugs which spoils the lovely country side one gets to travel through. However, we will do it again. Great time!

On Tue, 06 May 2014 Catherine wrote: Hi there Mel, Just to say that the train ride was great, staff were professional and very friendly – we will definitely book and travel with you guys again. Cathy Clifford

On Mon, 05 May 2014 Hettie Smit wrote: Goeie More Mel en al die ander personeel van African Sun Travel en elke personeel lid van Premier Classe trein na Durban! Baie baie dankie dit was vir ons in een woord ‘n onvergeetlike naweek!! Die trein diens was puik en ons was baie ingenome met die voorkoms van die kompartemente , die algehele voorkoms is van die trein is uitstekend! Die etes was uitstekend!!! Die personeel was baie vriendelik, hulpvaardig en profesioneel! Baie dankie ons gaan verseker weer van die diens gebruik maak!!

On Fri, 02 May 2014 Richard wrote: I would just like to commend you on a great service and a really lovely experience for me and my family. We traveled from Potchefstroom to Cape Town on the 29/30 April 2014. Your booking agents was very accommodating and help full with our ever changing itinerary. On board we enjoyed a clean cabin, very friendly and help full staff! Once again THANK YOU! Kind Regards Richard Rossouw

On Tue, 29 April 2014 Ndileka wrote: Thank you very much for your prompt response. This is customer care at its best. I am really impressed and pleased with this kind of service . It is a WOW service to me. How I wish all online booking companies could be like SA RAILWAYS. Keep up the great work!!! Regards Ndileka

On Wed, 09 April 2014 Mariza wrote: Thank you Mel. Your service is awesome. Really expected to struggle, but you made it very pleasant to book this. You may use any positive comments i make on your website, I am a believer. :-) Mariza

On Mon, 07 April 2014 Alan wrote: RE: Premier Classe train tour package. Hi Bernice,Just a note to thank you once again for the best holiday we have had as a family.From start to finish everything was first class, and my girls were very impressed with the Apartment at Horizon View.They have made a note of your contact details and will be contacting you directly with their Holiday Plans in the future.Many Many Thanks, Regards, Alan Simmons

On Thu, 20 March 2014 Anel wrote: So many thanks – my father is insisting that I must get Carte Blanche to make a programme on you guys for the absolute fabulous client support and service!!!! Anel De Beer

On Tue, 11 March 2014 Thabang wrote: Hi Bernice, My wife and I enjoyed the tour on Premier Classe (from CPT to JHB). Wow, from your excellent service to that of the friendly and helpful staff on the train everything was so surperb. We now planning to use the train from Durban to Johannesburg. Kind regards Thabang

On Wed, 05 March 2014 Riaan wrote: Hi Bernice, Baie dankie vir die tyd wat ons in julle plek kon bly, dit is n wonderlike plek en sal dit weer gebruik. Het ons darem alles in order gelos. Weereens dankie Riaan, Lt Col Nel Human Resource Management, Klerksdorp Police Station

On Wed, 05 March 2014 Rob wrote: Dear Meloni We are back home again and I just wanted to tell you that we had a marvelous trip with the Shosholoza Premier Classe train. Enjoyed it very well, great food, compartment was nice and we slept well. I will recommend this to anybody who wants to travel by train in SA, nice experience and very relaxed. Kind regards Rob van Uythoven/The Netherlands

On Fri, 28 February 2014 Hetti wrote: Hallo MEL EN AL DIE ANDER BAIE VRIENDELIKE, HULPVAARDIGE EN GEDULDIGE MENSE. Ek het die “voucher”baie vinnig gekry en ons ses sien Vreeslike baie daarna uit om trein te ry! Baie dankie dat julle so geduldig was met my! Ek dink julle is ‘n uitstaande en uitstekende groep saam! Goed gaan! Mrs. Hettie Smit Directorate: Financial Accounting Department of Agriculture, Forestry & Fisheries

On Tue, 18 February 2014 Susan wrote: We were four adults who travelled to Durban on Friday 14 Feb and returned Monday 17 Feb. We had a very pleasant experience with Shozalosa Meyl Tourist Class. Our journey was great. The staff friendly. The breakfast was really good value for money. We are already planning a trip down to Cape Town, and will most definately be using the services of Shozalosa Meyl. Thank you guys! For what we paid we have absolutely no complaints. Susan De Lange Stander

On Sat, 08 February 2014 Paul Harris wrote: Hi Mel, Not sure if this should go to you, but if not, please pass it on. I have already praised the booking process and your efficiency. Thanks again, all the same. With regard to the Tourist Class (economy sleeper) journey itself, I am a retired Train Manager. I used to work on the UK High Speed Train network so I have professional insight. I was generally impressed,... more on Facebook

On Facebook earlier today Brendan Keith Shaw wrote: Thank you guys @ African Sun Travel for the awesome train ride my sister and her young son experienced in November last year on Premier Classe. The service that yourself and Shosholoza Meyl provided, including the ontrain staff, was brilliant.

On Fri, 17 January 2014 Bertsatos wrote: Thx Mel, you are very efficient. This is the second time I am using you guys and I must compliment you on your excellent service. Regards

On Mon, 13 January 2014 Mike wrote: Hi Bernice, All the best to you and all your ladies. I hope 2014 is going to be a good year for you all. Just a short note to say my trip train trip on Premier Classe in December was again an experience to remember. The service and personnel on the train were just as good, if not better than my previous trips. The train manager going down was the same manager that was on the train when I last came back so that made it even more pleasant for me. I will be down in Port Elizabeth in July and I would like to know if I can book to travel back from Port Elizabeth on Friday the 11th July. This will be for myself and my partner sharing. Could you please let me know if this is ok and when I can make a booking. Kind regards Mike Longworth

On Facebook a few moments ago: @Judemymum: We enjoyed our journey on Premier Class immensely. JHB to PE....train 4 hrs delayed, but who cares? Would love to do more. Susan Arnold: Top class won't regret. Nickie Allen: We did this too!!! Absolutely loved the experience!! Saw so much on our journey and would recommend it to other wanting to take the more scenic route.

On Wed, 18 December 2013 Alan wrote: Hi Bernice, Its just so wonderful to have such professional people such as yourself and Andre to take care of our Holiday needs, Thank You very much and the Simmons Family wish you and your Family a Merry Christmas and a amazing New Year. Looking forward to our trip more than the last time, We now know what to expect and cant wait!!! Kind Regards, Alan , Pauline, Storm and Skye

On Tue, 03 December 2013 Tracy wrote: Dear Bernice, I would like to express my gratitude and appreciation for one of your staff members: Chantelle Krotz. She has been most helpful in helping me arrange my car for transportation from CPT-JHB. She helped me with dates and all of my many questions!! So I would like to say Thank You and I hope she gets the recognition she deserves. Kind Regards Tracy Nelson

On Mon, 02 December 2013 Nigel wrote: Hi Rosemary, Thanks so much for the voucher received. It has always been a pleasure dealing with the folk at Africa Sun Travel, and this time again, what a pleasure. We are looking forward to our trip in February, and as you can see, it is a big family affair. Once again, thanks so much for the excellent service. Kindest regards, and our Lord's blessings on you all. Nigel Findlay

On Fri, 22 November 2013 Mary wrote: Hi Mel, Thank you for your speedy response. I must compliment you and Andre on your efforts to help us. Herewith details of our request... Your frequent passengers, MARY AND TONY FERRIE

On Fri, 01 November 2013 Fr Craig wrote: Hello Andre- I have been meaning to write to you since I got home on 18th October, but it was business as usual immediately after my return from leave.. I really enjoyed the train journey to Cape Town. It was absolutely great and your staff were really friendly and helpful. It was a delightful experience, although we were stuck at Nelspoort for six hours, because the train on the line ahead had conked out…but even so, that was certainly not as if we were stuck in a dirty or depressing train. I could quite easily have spent another day/night on the train and I was so glad that we could have supper when coming into Cape Town. The journey through the Hex River Valley was absolutely magnificent and quite spectacular, as we travelled through the mountains and into the sunset. I loved the ‘home style’ cooking and typically South African menu. Very encouraging indeed! I have told so many people about it and one or two people are actually now very interested in going aboard the Premier Classe. You will certainly see me back again and would certainly like to travel on this train as much as possible. Thank you for providing a great service and very realistic value for money and thanks for all your efficient service with regard to getting bookings and tickets. I really appreciated it. God bless you, Fr Craig Holmes

  • Mpho JJ Motivator Kokome: Ohhh yes, That is the king of the jungle dat one!!!!!
  • Tamsyn Van Gelderen: well said actually I love the train - my trips thus far have been amazing and the staff absolutely top notch!!
  • Thabiso Kabung: beautiful! what he just said is absolutely true. The train journey on Shosholoza meyl is one that every human being shud experience. It's a wonderful way to travel to CPT.

On Tue, 29 October Alan wrote: Hi Bernice and Andre, Thank You for a FANTASTIC holiday experience we had in Cape Town, from start to finish we had a wonderful holiday. The Shosholoza Meyl Train was great and the staff are always ready and willing to serve every request and the accommodation at Ocean Mist 107 was 5 Star. Pauline and I were blown away by the professional manner and your concern and well being of your guests and cannot thank you enough. We will most definitely be back to Cape Town for a Holiday that we know will be a 5 Star experience once again. Many Many Thanks, Alan Simmons

On Thu, 17 October 2013 Mo wrote: Hello Bernice, I greatly appreciate the great service from you guys. Mo

On Tue, 15 October 2013 Alan wrote: Hi Meloni, That is fantastic news, Many Thanks once again, You Guys Are STARS.. Regards, Alan Simmons

On Wed, 09 October 2013 Tammy wrote: Thanks! All appears to be done and my voucher is with me! You guys were Great to work with. It made my preparations for travels so much easier! This will be my favorite part of my adventure this next 2 weeks! (*_*) Have a GREAT day! ~Tammy~

On Thu, 03 October 2013 Mike wrote: Hi Bernice, I have transferred the money to your account. You ladies are so good at your jobs, it is a pleasure dealing with all of you. Kind regards Mike

On Wed, 02 October 2013 Katherine wrote: Hi Rosemary, I have received the voucher; thank you so much. If the trip is half as wonderful as working with everyone at Africa Sun Travel has been, then I shall be having a lovely holiday! - all best Katherine

On Wed, 02 October 2013 Harriet wrote: Dear All, Thank you for the wonderful service with the transport of my car to Cape Town. It arrived safely and you were really efficient and helpful. Many thanks again. Kind regards, Harriet Copelyn

On Tue, 01 October 2013 Hilton wrote: Hi, Mel I never got a chance to thank you. It was a pleasure working with you guys. The car arrived in the same condition I gave it to you. Thanks again. Hilton Serere, Support and Implementation Consultant

On Fri, 27 September 2013 Phillip wrote: On the 19th September, my wife and I traveled on the Premier Classe to Cape Town from Johannesburg. Gary and his team are exceptional - very professional, efficient and passionate. They are a credit to the Train and the country. The compartments, lounge car and dining car are well appointed. The food is outstanding. Herewith are some suggestions: You are hiding a stunning treasure - why not advertise it with Postcards we can buy on board as memorabilia, a booklet or A4 page fact sheet describing the trip... Bottom line, it was thoroughly enjoyable!

On Wed, 25 September 2013 Mike wrote: Hi Ladies, Just a short note to thank you for all the service you have given me. I arrived back on Monday from my trip on Shosholoza Meyl Premier Classe to the Eastern Cape. I must tell you that it was a wonderful experience and the service on the train from the Train Managers down was out of the top drawer. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they all went out of their way to make sure the trip would be a memorable one, which it was. I will definitely travel Premier Classe again in the very near future Again thank you. Kind regards Mike

On Thu, 12 September 2013 Garnet wrote: We really appreciate how professional everything was handled. We are looking forward to a great trip. Will be recommending your online booking agency to my sis and family who plans to visit shortly. Look for the names Coleman and Olive Harbor.

On Mon, 09 September 2013 Reinette wrote: Hi Andre, Many thanks and I will recommend your services to all family and friends. It is heartwarming to realise that professional service still exists in SA. Kind regards Reinette

On Tue, 03 September 2013 Clifford wrote: Thank you very much! The service has been very professional and on point! Regards Clifford R. Modiselle

On Wed, 14 August 2013 Brett wrote: Perfect, thank you. Bernice, thanks to you and your team please. I will certainly recommend AST to all…..you guys stand tall….such a pleasure. So efficient, professional and pleasant. Kind regards, Brett Bachmann MARITIME SHIPPING ACADEMY

On Wed, 07 August 2013 Penny wrote: Hi Mel, I hereby confirm that I have received the travel voucher for my train journey. Many thanks for your professionalism with regards to the entire process during our interaction pertaining thereto. Now we are looking forward to our experience on board the train, as when I previously travelled by train to Johannesburg over the Easter Holidays this year, I found the onboard staff to be generous, friendly, accomodating and the meals purchased in the dining saloon, were scrumptious and fresh and the service rendered by the staff in general was outstanding. Kind Regards Penny Gathercole

On Tue, 06 August 2013 Rod wrote: Hi Bernice and Rosemary. Thank you both for your prompt response to my enquiries today, and my thanks to all at African Sun Travel for your prompt and courteous help with everything to do with my train journey. FYI - I’ve travelled on Premier Classe before (to Cape Town) and found it just as good this time. The train was clean and comfortable with excellent service, the staff were all wonderful and we were served excellent meals. Despite (or perhaps because of) a five hour delay in the middle of the night, caused by another train ahead of us, we had a truly memorable experience. Finally, the price is amazing – such good value. I can’t think of anything bad to say and take every chance to tell people about this largely unknown gem of world rail travel. I’ll be looking for opportunities to travel on Premier Classe again in the future. regards Rod Brown, 57 Barry Street Westgarth VIC 3070 Australia

On Tue, 30 July 2013 Joey wrote: Hi Mel, I must thank you for your patience and help. It was such a pleasure dealing with you. Regards Joey

On Mon, 29 July 2013 Jacob wrote: Hi Bernice, Thank you so much for organising this refund. I can happily say you have gone above and beyond.

On Mon, 29 July 2013 Mina wrote: Good day Bernice, I can not tell you how much we enjoyed this trip. We took the trip to relax and that is exactly what we did. I normally travel by plane to take my grandchild to visit her Mom in PE for holidays and I’ve decided to take the train again next time I go there. It is really a surprise to get money back, thank you. Thank you once again for the excellent service we received. Kind Regards Mina Opperman

On Wed, 24 July 2013 Mike wrote: Hi Ladies, Just to let you know I have received my voucher. I would like to thank you for all your assistance and it turned out to be a very good experience. I must tell you that customer service is inbred into me and the service I have had from you is out of the top drawer. I just hope my train journey is just as good and an experience to remember. You won’t know but I am 65 years old and I don’t think I will be able to go on another trip like this again. Kind regards Mike

On Wed, 24 July 2013 Masego wrote: Dear Rosemary and cc Bernice & Meloni I have received the vouchers & thank you to ALL of you for your kind assistance & wonderful customer service. Warm regards Masego

On Mon, 22 July 2013 HG Vermaak wrote: Good Morning Bernice. I would just like to THANK YOU for the awesome service received when we came down by train from 5-10 July. Everything was extra special and your apartment is absolutely beautiful - THANK YOU for the wonderful experience. H.G VERMAAK

On Thu, 18 July 2013 Dewald Faber wrote: "Thank you so much, what a pleasure it is dealing with efficient individuals like yourself."

About an hour ago on Facebook, Susan Snyman wrote: dankie klaar vir sept . vakansie bespreek.....kaapstad na johannesburg.......en terug.......ons gaan elke jaar ....nooit was daar einige klagtes ..personeel vriendelik....kuier lekker daar is altyd iemand in die gange wat hello se....die trein was veilig...die kinders beweeg in gange....kos baie lekker en billik... treinry is vir my soos nog n ekstra vakansie.....dankie ....diens ......10 uit 10....dankie.

On Tue, 02 July 2013 Sam wrote: Hi Rosemary, Thank you for the voucher – I have received it and printed it. I’d like to take this opportunity to compliment you on the professional and excellent service received thus far. Especially the good service from David Webb! It has been a very pleasant and refreshing experience dealing with you all. Kind regards, Sam

On Tue, 18 June 2013 Justin Wood wrote: "Had a great trip on the Shosholoza Meyl tourist class from PE to Bloemfontein this past weekend! Staff were professional and food was good. Train was safe, clean and had modern fittings. Will recommed it!!!"

On Tue, 11 June 2013 Arie wrote: Hi Bernice/Rosemary. Thank you very much for the supersonic response, I just received my voucher and are happy as can be. Next time around I will make my reservation a little earlier. Regards, Arie du Preez

On Fri, 24 May 2013 Daphne wrote: Deal Mel, Thanks for the wonderful prompt service, you are a star. I wish everyone would do their work so promptly, its really a pleasure doing business with you. Kind regards Daphne Cox

On Fri, 19 April 2013 Claudie wrote: Thank you, I have received the voucher. I really appreciate the extra mile you have gone Bernice in your effort to book my mom and gran in a coupé together. It's with service like this that makes booking a train journey in South Africa a pleasant one. Thank you so much!
Kind regards, Claudie

On Thu, 18 April 2013 Stephen Congdon wrote: We booked a trip on the Shosholoza Meyl Premier Class travelling to Cape Town on 21 March 2013. Subsequently, I read many negative remarks, complaints,etc. and had serious doubts about the trip. Well, I was pleasantly surprised!! Starting in the departure lounge, we were served delicious snacks including various cheeses, biltong, nuts and much more. When we got to our cabin, gone were the fears about no towels and so forth. Beautiful. fluffy white gowns (packaged in plastic), slippers, towels, and toiletries were supplied. The (clean) toilets sported double-ply toiletpaper and the shower was also nothing to complain about. Our train manager as well as the kitchen manager were available and helpful, dining car was promptly cleaned for the next seating and service was excellent. We had more than enough to eat, and the lady serving us in the bar was efficient and friendly. Our plugs did not work and at one time the aircon as well, this was sorted out by an on-board electrician. We experienced no delays, as a matter of fact, the train was about an hour ahead of schedule. We thoroughly enjoyed our trip and have recommended it to others as a true value-for-money experience! Thank you for a wonderful experience!!

On Mon, 15 April 2013 Gabriël wrote: Good day David. Thank you for the e-mail. I have to compliment you on your website. Thank you to you to for this e-mail with all the necessary information needed! We have travelled with Shosholoza Meyl before, never has the correspondence been this efficient and clearly set out. Well done! Gabriël Stephanus Badenhorst and family

On Mon, 01 April 2013 Gundula wrote: Hi Bernice and Mel, thank you for a wonderful trip from Joburg to Capetown and back with the Shosholozy Meyl Tourist Class Sleeper, from 1st to 8th of March 2013. I had a Coupe for me alone for a very good price, and it was nice and comfortable. Service was perfect and very kindly. On both routes the train has been delayed for about two hours, but no problem for me, because it has been holidays. It was a great experience to go by train this long way through South Africa – to see the Great and the Little Karoo and to meet very interesting international people on the train. I sent you a few of my pictures, perhaps you can use them. I wanted to post this on your facebook - or your web-side, but didn’t know, how to do this. Again thank you very much for all you help.
Greetings from Germany, Gundula

On Fri, 15 Mar 2013 Angie wrote and sent picture: My parents travelled on the Premier Classe train from Cape Town to Johannesburg and described the journey as a wonderful experience – they had this to say. The staff at Cape Town station was friendly and so helpful, within minutes our bags were taken away and loaded and we sat in the comfortable lounge drinking tea and coffee in anticipation of been called for “alllll aboard”. The call came and with excitement we boarded the train to receive welcome drinks and snacks, the smiles of everyone proof of an exciting adventure ahead, all too soon the train lurched into motion leaving Table Mountain behind in the distance under the blanket of cloud. The journey through the Winelands was exceptional and in particular the view of Hex River valley was breathtaking, it is amazing how much of South Africa you get to see when taking a train through the country side. The chukka chukka of the wheels gave such a nostalgic feel of an era gone by and had everyone relaxing, enjoying the continuous motion of train on the tracks. I was taken back to my youth where our means of travel to school and holidays was by train and felt young again. Lunch was splendid and we were amazed how such a delicious meal could be prepared on a train, every detail was attended to, course after course, the service was outstanding. We loved that we could sit and chat to strangers in the lounge, swopping holiday stories, and finding out where in the far corners of the world people were from.   We sat and just watched in awe at the vast desolate beauty of the Karoo spreading by. Afternoon tea was a treat and again we enjoyed the company of the fellow travellers. Before we knew it – dinner was served, it was fabulous and done to perfection.   Sleeping with the constant motion of the slight sway was better than any sleep tablet and we woke up to a very relaxed morning, already excited for the arrival at Johannesburg Park Station. We loved the trip and would love to do it again...This photo was taken in the Premier Classe lounge -  please pick us them winners! Kind regards Angie Kitchener

On Thu, 14 March 2013 Arrie wrote: Hi Amy I have received my voucher. Thank you very much. Your service is efficient, fast, reliable and friendly -something a lot of businesses are lacking these days. Thank you to you and David for helping me. Kind regards Arrie Stapelberg

On Fri, 08 Mar 2013 Darelle wrote: Hi there! Some feedback on our trip on the Shosholoza Meyl Premier Classe (we travelled down to Cape Town on 21 February 2013) – something that we have wanted to do for a very long time and at last had the opportunity. This was an awesome experience and we would like to compliment all relevant roleplayers, i.e. from the people responsible for making our booking up to the personnel on board the train. The meals were of very high quality and we had all that we needed on the trip. We could all sit back, relax and enjoy the journey. Indeed an experience to remember!
Regards Tobie and Darelle Snyman Theo and Sandra Erasmus

On Mon, 04 Mar 2013 Sue wrote: Hi Mel, Bernice... Thanks so much for the effort made to get us in on the schedule that fell within my available vacation leave dates. We want to tell you what a wonderful trip we have just had, on the Tourist Class Meyl. After two great trips on the Premier Classe, we were very nervous about taking the Tourist Class train. Reading that horrific write up in the Beeld made us caucious. We caught the train in Krugersdorp, the station staff were so helpful. Then what great door to door service the staff gave us on the train. The food was great. We will definitely be recommending this way of travelling to friends, see you next year God willing. Once again, thanks, Sue and Nigel Findlay – Witbank, South Africa

On Fri, 22 Feb 2013 Dennis wrote: Good day, Thanks guys for your professional and prompt handling of this booking, This was now stress free and it is highly appreciated. Keep up the good work as service like this is hard to find. Regards, Dennis Holmes

On Wed, 20 Feb 2013 Anel wrote: Dear David. This is just a short note to say THANK YOU!!! You will not believe what a great experience this is (was) for my parents. They are actually from the older (conservative) generation – and the thought of visiting us by train – was in the beginning “noooooo!!” Well, they arrived on the 11th at Huguenot Station in the Paarl – and it really was the experience of their live!! They said that the train, the personnel and the service and the experience as a whole – are 110% + They were so impressed with the food services, the friendly personnel and the trip !! They are returning this morning – and we all feel blessed and want to thank all of you for your part in this journey. They will definitely travel again soon (and this is now the established way of visiting us in future J). Thank you – a.

On Wed, 13 Feb 2013 Miemie wrote on our Facebook page: I'm going on the Premier Classe train on the 28th of February from JNB - CPT for the 4th time! I can't wait for time to pass! The experience is excellent. When I get the chance, I book that one with confidence and pride. Keep up the good work.

Premier Classe travellersOn Wed, 13 Feb 2013 we received: We went on the Premier Classe train in September 2011 from JHB to CPT and the journey was really an experience! The train journey was great and the staff were excellent. I give Premier Classe a gold star.

On Mon, 11 Feb 2013 Peter-John wrote: Dear Meloni, We had a pleasant experience on the Shosholoza Meyl Tourist Class from PE to Jo’burg on the 25th of January. The couches and linen were clean and the staff were friendly. We enjoyed chatting to fellow passenger and the dining cart’s food was good. We wouldn’t hesitate to travel by train again. Thank you. Kind Regards, Peter-John and Meredith

On Thu, 07 Feb 2013 Anthea wrote: Hello everyone, Thank you very much. You are all very professional and its a joy to work with you! Thank you for looking after our client. Also for ensuring that his 2 teenage children are next door to the compartment of himself and his wife. Kind regards Anthea Rossouw

On Tue, 05 Feb 2013 Heila wrote: Just want to thank you for bringing us home safe and sound on the 31st of January. We always enjoy travelling by train

On Thu, 31 Jan 2013 Frances wrote: Good Morning Ladies, I would just like to thank you both and as well as South African Railways for the excellent service! I will definitely use your car transport service again! Thank you. Frances Moore

On Wed, 30 Jan 2013 Arthur wrote: Hello Bernice. Many thanks. May I say how impressed I have been with your excellent service. Arthur

Car-transport-by-trainOn Mon, 28 Jan 2013 Erica wrote and sent picture: Hi Meloni, To all at Shosholza Meyl, thank you for making the transportation of my car so smooth and efficiently handled. Herewith a photo of the arrival at Cape Town station. Regards Erica

On Mon, 21 Jan 2013 David wrote: Hello Mel, Bernice. We have just returned to England to snow and ice but we wanted to say how wonderful our trip was and it was such a lovely relaxing way to get to see your wonderful country. In our cabin, there was a letter asking for suggestions. We do have one! It would be nice if there was a map/guide showing the route and features to look out for and if they are on the left or the right. As it was the first time in your country, we had many questions. I do not know if it is possible but we were in cabin 4A. There was a very nice couple in 6A (Mr Mark Wade, I think) who were very informative and helpful but sadly in the mass departure at Cape Town we did not have a chance to say goodbye. If you do have the opportunity and if it is not too much trouble then please do pass on our thanks and best wishes. We have recommended your train to all that we met in South Africa. Kind regards

On Thu, 17 Jan 2013 Jenny wrote: We traveled from Johannesburg to Cape Town on the Tourist Class train. From when we made our booking, to our arrival in Cape Town, it was just so great, we want to do it again. Everything was clean, staff friendly + helpful, food delicious + reasonably priced. Well done and thank you everyone. Jenny Schneigansz

On Fri, 14 Jan 2013 Penny wrote: Hello Mel' Thanks so much for the professionalism rendered by your booking agents, looking most forward to my trip. Thanks Penny Gathercole

On Mon, 07 Jan 2013 Mark wrote: Good morning Bernice, there are no words to describe the trip from Johannesburg to Cape Town. The service was amazing, the staff unbelievable. Would I recommend you? Yes! ...Would I use you again? Yes, without a doubt!
Thanks for a breath taking experience. Mark Wade

On Mon, 07 Jan 2013 George wrote: Hi Bernice, Voucher received. Thank you very much for your excellent service and professionalism at all times.

Hi Bernice, Happy New Year to you. It is now a good while since we enjoyed a fantastic trip on your Premiere Class train from Cape Town to Jo'burg. We were very pleased with the service, so much so that we are planning another visit to South Africa, with our children and their partners, in May of this year and enquiring about doing the train trip in reverse from Jo'burg to Cape Town... Best wishes, Julia

On Fri, 14 Dec 2012 Lynette wrote: Hi Mel, Thanks so much for the promptness and efficiency of your service. Regards Lynette

On Wed, 28 Nov 2012 Regi wrote: Hello Peter, Thanks for all your efforts, it’s really appreciated I have received top class service from you.

On Tue, 27 Nov 2012 Bonny wrote: Hi Mel. Thanks a ton you are a star and so efficient. Regards, Bonny Gray

On Fri, 23 Nov 2012 Dionne wrote: OMG AMAZING!!!! You are amazing!!!! Thank you thank you thank you – I cannot tell you how excited I am – please send a credit card authorization form through immediately so we can make payment. Thank you again, Kind regards Dionne

On Fri, 23 Nov 2012 Michael wrote: Thank you, Rosemary, for the voucher. We are so looking forward to this journey as we celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary on the 2nd. I am very impressed with the efficiency of the booking process. Thank you again, Michael Donnelly

On Thu, 15 Nov 2012 Carrol wrote: Hi Mel, Just a brief note to thank you for the magical trip down to Cape Town on the Shosholoza Meyl. It was a truly wonderful experience and I have been promoting your stunning service everywhere I go. The train was clean, safe and a pleasure to travel on. Thank you very much and all the best. Regards Carrol and Fouzia

On Thu, 01 Nov 2012 Bertus wrote: Thank you Mel, I wish to thank you for your speedy and promt...and professional service. It is so nice to work with people who take pride in what they do. Kind regards, Bertus.

On Tue, 23 Oct 2012 Carien wrote: Good day Bernice, I just want to thank you for helping us to have the experience of a lifetime. My parents are now hooked on riding by train and didn't want to fly back. Carien Roux

On Mon, 22 Oct 2012 Andre wrote: Hi Bernice, Thanks again to you and Monique for your prompt and informative responses. I would be happy to escalate the good service to a manager/supervisor or alternatively write a review. Let me know how I can recognize your great work. Andre van Honschooten

On Mon, 15 Oct 2012 Ronald wrote: Hello Peter, I confirm the receipt of the voucher for the trip on 28th of October Johannesburg – Cape Town and thank you for the swift process on your side. Best regards, Ronald

On Thu, 11 Oct 2012 Bennour wrote: Hi, I would like to thank and congratulate for the great services of the Shosholoza Meyl/Africa Sun Travel staff, specially to Meloni Mather, who has shown great professionalism and politeness. Keep up the good work. Kind Regards, Bennour Bacar

On Tue, 09 Oct 2012 Marida wrote: Hello Peter. We are back from our trip to Durban on the Tourist Class train, and I would like to pay a HUGE compliment to Shosholoza Meyl and all their employees, whether it was on the train, or on the stations. We went on this trip with very very low expectations, and ...we were pleasantly surprised at what we found. Not only was the organization excellent, they were waiting for my car Friday morning, our names were on all the required lists, no issues with the tickets and everything went as smooth as can be, the staff everywhere was friendly and very helpful. I am a germophobiac, but for every other normal person that camps a lot, would not have found anything wrong with the cabins. It was normal train cabin dirt for a train that runs on lines with other trains and carries thousands of passengers all the time. The toilets were IMMACULATE, and clean, and very well taken care off. Again, a pleasant surprise. For supper we had the most delicious beef stew and pap, nothing fancy, but tasty food and very well prepared. Our kids had lasagna and toasted sandwiches, and again, well prepared and very tasty, and not expensive at all. We opted to take our own bedding, but we did see clean bedding being delivered for the train and loaded, so I can say, that it is indeed clean linen given. When we got to Durban, my car was waiting for me by the exit door, in the same state as I delivered it, after 5 minutes, the relevant person arrived with our key. I also had a phone call from them to confirm my car arrived, and again, very helpful and very friendly staff. Thank you to the Shosholoza Meyl for an unforgettable experience and thank you to you and African Sun Travel for making it possible. Kind Regards, Marida - NEW ENTERPRISE TRADING (PTY) LTD General Manager

On Mon, 08 Oct 2012 Maryke wrote: Hi Bernice, I just want to inform you on the excellent service I received from Mel Mather. It was a pleasure dealing with her. She is prompt, friendly and handled all aspects of my booking on the train very professional. We can’t wait to travel on 25 October 2012, Krugersdorp to Cape Town. Just a word of thanks to you and Mel. Regards Maryke Oosthuizen, Azochem Laboratories Accounts Department

On Fri, 05 Oct 2012 Guido wrote: Dear Sharna, I confirm the receipt of Voucher. Thank you very much for the excellent service. Guido Bruggeman

On Wed 03 Oct 2012, Dee wrote: Good Day Bernice, Thank you for the vouchers and thank you for your excellent service. Have a great day. D Ramsden

My Mom travelled Premier Classe last week "again", and was once more very complementary. She said, she received great service, fantastic meals, and the timings were spot on. She told us, that she met wonderful people on the train and will do the trip all over again and again. She absolutely loved it. She also said: The showers were clean and big, she was given a night gown and amenities,... In fact she was so busy, she hardly had time to talk to us on the mobile phone inbetween breakfast service, midmorning tea, four course luncheon, afternoon high tea and five course supper... Karin Fischer

On Mon, 01 Oct 2012 Japie wrote: Hallo Peter, Dankie vir jou friendelikke en goeie diens wat jy lewer. Dit is maar skaars deesdae. Ek sien baie uit om na 48 jaar weer op ‘n trein te ry. Ek is nou net soos ‘n opgewonde kind. Weereens baie dankie vir u vriendelikke diens. Groete Japie du Plooy

On Tue, 25 Sep 2012 Mariska wrote: Morning David, Thank you for the vouchers. You guys have given us fantastic service. It was an absolute pleasure dealing with you and we will do so again in the future. Kind regards Mariska

On Tue, 11 Sep 2012 Steven wrote: Hi guys , I just want to say thank you for everything AST is the best you guys are the best, not to mention everyone should book with you guys, hope you have a happy tuesday. Keep up the good work, Steven

On Mon, 10 Sep 2012 Lois wrote: Hello Peter, Thank you very much for the fast and efficient service. Kind regards Lois

On Fri, 07 Sep, 2012 Tukkie wrote: Hallo Mel, Thank you so very, very much. I know it is your job but went out of your way to help me. It is seldom in this day and age that business people are so kind and helpfull. Wish I could do something as kind for you!!!!! Many thanks and kind regards. Tukkie Fourie.

On Thu, 06 Sep 2012 Mikel wrote: Good Afternoon Meloni. Thank you once again for the fantastic service and for arranging for the booking on Sunday. Have a wonderful day! Kind Regards, Michael Stafford, Automobil Concierge www.automobilconcierge.co.za

On Fri, 31 Aug 2012 Margaret wrote: Thanks so much Mel and Bernice. YES I have received and printed the voucher and want to thank you for your help in making everything go smoothly. It is appreciated. Sincerely Margaret. M. D. Maclean, Rural School and Community Trust www.ruraledu.org

On Mon, 20 Aug 2012 Cathy wrote: Dear Mel, Just a note to thank you very much for organising our train travel in South Africa. We obtained our tickets easily at Jo'burg station and had a trouble-free return journey. We are very grateful to you for your part in making our holiday such a success. Thank you!! With kind regards, Cathy

On Sun, 19 Aug 2012 Kay wrote: Hi Just to let you know. We are on the train and loving it. Just had a wonderful dinner. Kay Black, Sent from my iPad

On Sat, 18 Aug 2012 Keith wrote: Hi Bernice, We have just returned to the UK from South Africa and have to say that our journey on the Premier Classe (26 July 2012) was fault less and very enjoyable. The service was excellent and we will certainly travel by train again on our next visit to South Africa.
Linda & Keith Ashman

On Wed, 15 Aug 2012 Stephanus wrote: Hi Mel, Excellent! Thank you for great service and making it so easy! I will definitely recommend you in the future! Kind regards, Stephanus

On Tue, 07 Aug 2012 Carolyn wrote: Dear Meloni, Thank you for your reply. I will be in touch as soon as I have my ducks in a row. In the meantime, thank you, South African Railways for providing a world class service in terms of the booking for an event such as railing a car. I am VERY impressed by your website and the quick response from Monique to my request. Bouquets for you all, Yours sincerely, Carolyn Einhorn

On Thu, 02 Aug 2012 Sonia wrote: Hallo Meloni, Graag wil ek net baie dankie sê dat ek deur jou die treinkaartjies kon bespreek het. Die reis was heerlik en alles met die kaartjies het ook vlot verloop. Ek sal definitief mense aanbeveel om van julle gebruik te maak. Nogmaals dankie!
Groete Sonia Prinsloo

On Fri, 27 Jul 2012 Kevin wrote: Hi Bernice, I would like to thank-you for your professional and wonderful service in handling our booking. We had an unforgettable experience with tasty food and excellent service. The sleepers we clean, the bedding crisp and at night the beds were made. The crew were professional and friendly and made you feel welcome. Traveling by train is one of the greatest South African experience’s one can have. I am unsure of why many South African’s don’t take this travel option as a lot of foreigners do. It seems they know something the locals don’t. Keep up the good work. See you next year (With more guests). Regards Kevin Rack

On Sat, 21 Jul 2012 Gerda wrote: Hi Bernice, I just want to say that my parents was very pleased and enjoyed the Premier Class trip to Cape Town tremendously. The snow in the Karoo was amazing. The food was great and the service - The people treated them like royalty. They said that it is the best holiday ever, and cant wait for the return. Thank you Gerda

On Fri, 20 Jul 2012 Sneziwe wrote: Hi Mel and Bernice. I've been meaning to send this email but have been so busy! I just wanted to say THANK YOU for your great service. My car arrived safely and on time. Kind regards Sneziwe

On Wed, 18 Jul 2012 Charmaine wrote: Thanks Mel for a most outstanding service. It has been a pleasure dealing with you and will highly recommend you to family and friends. Regards Charmaine

On Tue, 16 Jul 2012 Tshego wrote: Thank You so much Monique and Mel you guys have been so helpful, I highly appreciate the high level of service you guys have given me, some of the best I have received. Thanx again. You guys rock! :)

On Mon, 09 Jul 2012 Charity wrote: Dear Mel and Bernice. I hope you had a wonderful year so far. I just want to take the opportunity to share with your office the wonderful experience my family had with Shosholoza meyl. On the 8th Dec. 2011 myself and my family took a trip to Cape town on the tourist class. All thanks to your help with the bookings. My children had an experience of a life time with Shosholoza meyl. It was a long and enjoyable journey with my family. The kind of support we received from the staff members on the train made us feel at home. We were never at any given time doubting our choice to travel by train. The food was very accommodative, the bed linen very comfortable, the security made our stay very pleasant during the long hours on the train. It is against this background that we once more wish to take another trip by Shosholoza mail to Durban this time. We wish to travel on the..... We are looking forward to this wonderful experience once more . Yours sincerely, Charity B. Mkhize (Deputy Chief Education Specialist: AET Adult/Youth Skills Development Gauteng Department of Education)

Hello Peter, Thank you, I have received the voucher. A special word of thanks for your professionalism and friendliness. It was a great pleasure to do business with you. Regards Mari

Hi Mel & Bernice, Just to confirm that we have received the voucher for reservation Knott, Germ – Dbn – Germ. I wish to thank you, Mel and Bernice for the prompt and efficient service that we have received, it was my first on-line booking, and you all made it seem so easy.
Kind regards, Willy and Lenie Knott

Hi Mel & Bernice, I just want to thank you for the service from you, we had a great trip to PE - we have no complains whatsoever only compliments ...from booking the tickets, friendly staff in the train and the food was good too. Keep up the great work!!! -Phumza

Dear Mel, please accept my gratitude to the professional service delivered transporting my vehicle from Cpt to Jhb. I do confirm that all went well and I did collect my vehicle in good state in Jhb station. Once again thanks for your valuable support and I will definitely reference your service to other guys;
-Regards Eugenio

Dear Mel and Bernice, Thank you so much for your phenomenal services. I loaded the car yesterday morning in Johannesburg, I flew to Cape Town and now have just picked it up at Cape Town Station and back to work as normal. Thank you very much, Genito Maure

Thank you very much Mel for your fast and efficient service. You make booking with Shosholoza Meyl a breeze. I hope we have more people like you in service. Regards Phillip Wihase

Hi Bernice, I want to thank you for the excellent service from all at African Sun Travel. Our journey from Johannesburg to Cape Town via the Shosholoza Meyl Premier Classe Train was a highlight of our visit to a wonderful Country. I look forward to returning and will probably add a trip to Durban via rail. Oh and the Malva Pudding on the train was the best we had during our visit. -F Scott Hughes

Dear Melloni and Bernice, My wife and I have now returned to the UK from Southern Africa.I thought that you and your team would like to know that our trip on the Shosholoza Meyl overnight train was excellent. The experience far exceeded our expectations. The accommodation, staff courtesy, subsistence and company of our fellow travellers made the journey to Cape Town memorable. It was a real adventure. Who needs the Blue Train! There's no better way to cross the mighty Karoo than on the Shosholoza Meyl. Keep up the good work. Best wishes Bob and Sally Jennings

Thank you Mel, We are now back from our trip to Africa. The train was fantastic. A great way to see country we would have otherwise just flown over. Thank you for your part in our holiday. Andrew & Kirsty Biddle

Thank you very much Mel!! Voucher received. It is really a pleasure being able to make a booking and travel arrangements so fast and efficiently. It is greatly appreciated. Many thanks JJJ Patricia Austin, HR Generalist, SNC-Lavalin Inc. ,Ambatovy Project, Toamasina, Madagascar

Hi Mel, I confirm receipt of voucher, I must add that the service received from both you and Bernice has been exceptional. Well done!
Regards Hennie Cotzee

Dear Bernice and Mel, Thank you both so much for your help in booking the Shosholoza Meyl Cape Town to Johannesburg train for me, my wife and children during our trip to South Africa. This worked perfectly and we were so glad to have made the train trip and seen the beautiful countryside in a way which is not possible otherwise. We will strongly recommend this to friends. The staff were helpful and polite. With kind regards to you both. -Rupert Mitford and family

Good day Meloni, Just a word of thanks for the arrangements you have made for my dad on his recent trip on the Shozaloza meyl. They have returned yesterday and being over 70 they only have compliments for the train, the services and especially the security. They enjoyed trip and looking forward to next year, doing it again. Thank you once again. Regards Helena Jacobs

Hi Bernice. Got back to the UK. Just beautiful!! The food and service were first class. A big thank you to all that made the trip possible.
Regards Stuart and Fiona

Hi Bernice, I just wanted to say thanks so much for arranging the transport of my car, I received it earlier today. The service was efficient, cost effective and professional!! I will definitely be making use of your services for both of my parents cars that need to be shipped to Cape Town next month. -Kristy

Hi Bernice, Thanks for a very efficient and convenient service. All went well and received my 4x4 happily on Friday. Thanks for your patience and explanations. Regards Greg

Hi Bernice. I would just like to say how much I enjoyed the train trip and the service was wonderful. I will recommend it to anyone coming to South Africa. A wonderful way to start my time here. Thanks so much for all your help with this. -Chris Sutton

Hi Bernice. We have just had the most wonderful experience travelling on the Shosholoza Meyl Premier Classe train from Cape Town to Johannesburg. Our accommodation, which included toiletries, slippers and the loan of white, fluffy gowns was superb. Tea, coffee and warm muffins were served in the Executive lounge on Cape Town station whilst our luggage and car were put onto the train. Lunch was a 3 course affair followed by mid-afternoon tea, coffee and cakes. Dinner, comprising of 5 courses was served with a choice of South Africa's top wines - what more could one wish for with the Karoo as your back-drop. Breakfast didn't disappoint either. The staff were most attentive and went out of their way to meet our every need. Upon arrival at Johannesburg (45 minutes before the scheduled time of arrival) our car was speedily off-loaded. We were a little worried at media reports about the non-operating of the Premier Classe train but were assured, that it would be running as scheduled and we were not disappointed. We would certainly recommend travelling on the train both here and overseas - it brought back wonderful memories of train travel of a bye-gone era. ROSEMARY KIRCHMANN

Hello Bernice, There were some reviews on the internet, that said the train was fantastic and complaints that the booking process was hard. I must say I have been pleasantly surprised by the ease and efficiency of your booking process and I will be sure to comment on the relevant trip advisor sites to that effect. Kind Regards Beverley

Hello Peter, The whole process was faultless. I'd heard much about the experience and they were all spot on. Thank you for your assisting my numerous stalking phone calls but I've another 2 vehicles to bring down and looks the only way to do it. As you may gauge from the pictures - a most civilised experience, had by all. Many thanks Jeremy Lea

Hi Bernice. During last week I travelled from Cape Town to Johannesburg via the Shosholoza Meyl and back. I just need to thank you and congratulate you on excellent services rendered. From the service to the cleaning it was absolutely memorable. I have advised all my friends and family to try this mode of travel (even though it is so very long.......) Once again thank you and I hope to travel this way again. Mrs S. De Klerk, (my daughter Miss A. De Klerk and my grandson - Mr A. De Klerk).

Hello Peter, Just a note to say thank you for the service that your company arranged for us to moved our car from Johannesburg to Cape Town. Travelling from Hermanus on Friday, we found the directions given to us by your colleague on how to get to the Cape Town station spot on. When we arrived at the station, we found the train had arrived more than 30 minutes early. My motor car was already waiting for me on the platform. The paperwork took no more than a minute and we were on our way. A first class experience! Thank you once again. Peter Greyling Co-Franchisee Diamond Elite Achiever Club Member MBA (WITS) BSc Eng (UCT) CEA M

Hello Bernice, I wish to bring to your attention the wonderful service I received from Meloni in the matter of a booking I was making. I couldn’t have the day I wanted as it was fully booked and she went to endless trouble to sort out alternatives for me. And all in a friendly patient manner. Such service is a joy. Unfortunately today one does not always meet with the likes. Please let her know how pleased I am. With thanks Mrs Shirley Hardy

Hello Peter, I would like to take the opportunity on behalf of myself and my wife to thank all Premier staff for the journey from Cape Town to Jhb on the 23/04/2011. Due to the goods train derailment we had to be taken by bus to Worcster. We can only but have respect for the proffesional way we were treated by all staff from the Train Manger to Catering and security. Catering was of the best! Being an ex Spoornet employee and taking my spouse on our 35th wedding anniversary, we will surely cherish our trip and experience for a long time. Regards Wessel and Elsabe Strydom

Hello Peter, Just to thank you for your help. We dropped off the cars this morning and it was all well organised and a pleasant experience.
Thanks ! David Bowman

Hi Bernice, Thank you so much – I am so very impressed with your amasing service , for you to go the extra mile and meet my parents personally is unheard of. Please pass on the message to your Manager to let them know that we are very thankful for all your efficient help and wonderful service. This is a very special trip for them with it being 40th wedding anniversary and with your help it is going to be a trip to always remember and cherish. You are truly a star. Kind Regards Beverley Benjamin

Hello Peter, I just wanted to say what a lovely trip we had on the Shosholoza Meyl, I really enjoyed every minute and the staff were all super-friendly and efficient. I would recommend this to anyone (and already have). Going by train to Joburg was something I have wanted to do for a long time, and now I'm only sorry I waited so long. Kind regards Linda Steele